The New Bronze C Examination

From January 2013 The BGA have introduced a new Bronze C examination paper , basically the questions are similar to the ones found in the old papers, the main difference is that the number of questions have increased to 120 from 90 and the multi choice answers have increased from 3 to 4 possible answers.

The pass mark is now 70% on all subjects and once the exam has been passed it is valid for 24 months after which time if the SPL or LAPL /S licence hasn’t been issued the whole exam will need to be taken again.

Also – to clarify, if an exam is failed, only the section(s) failed need to be retaken. If a candidate fails a section 3 times, a fourth attempt is not allowed. In this case, the candidate and examiner must refer to the Training Standards Manager ( for advice.

The subjects are listed below.

  • Air Law and ATC procedures
  • Human Performance
  • Meteorology
  • Radio Communications
  • Principals of Flight
  • Flight Performance and Planning
  • Aircraft General Knowledge
  • Navigation part 1 and 2

Below is the BGA’s syllabus for the Bronze C theory exam

Bronze Syllabus EASA